top of page

Bread or Death: Memories of My Childhood During and After the Holocaust

This was a tough and eye-opening read for me. I remember reading "The Diary of Anne Frank" when I was around 10 years old so I jumped at the chance to read another personal account of the Holocaust. I was struck by how much Mr. Kleinberg and his family's survival depended on sheer chance and luck. He really has a gift with writing and the book reads as if he is sitting across from you talking and not through the written word. There were quite a few times where I just had to stop reading and just cried. Other times, I was so full of grief that I was beyond tears. I really think that this book should be recommended reading to go along with "The Diary of Anne Frank" although considering some of the situations that happened I would recommend slightly older children or "tweens" to be the intended audience for this book. This is a book that will stay with me and has affected me. The Holocaust is something we should never ever forget. I am also amazed at the courage of Mr. Kleinberg and his family especially his mother. I fully intend to purchase a copy of this book for my older daughter to read and it is one I want on my bookshelf to read again and again. I received a copy of this book from the publishers (thank you) for free in exchange for an honest review. I want to thank Mr. Kleinberg for having the courage to put down on paper a part of his life that must be very difficult to think about.

Five out of Five Stars

Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page