top of page

Surviving the Angel of Death: The Story of a Mengele Twin in Auschwitz

I firmly believe that we should never forget what happened to innocent people including children during the Holocaust so whenever I see a book written by a survivor of the Holocaust, I always read it. It is sometimes very difficult to read about the suffering of people and their loved ones but I feel that I owe it to them to listen to their story. Eva Mozes Kor, and her twin sister Miriam were only 10 years old when they were taken to Auschwitz with their family and quickly separated from them only to be subjected to sadistic experiments by "The Angel of Death", Josef Mengele while the rest of their family were taken to the gas chambers. At first glance, the twins seemed to be "lucky" in that they were able to keep their own clothing and hair but the experiments they suffered made it very clear that they were not lucky at all. I won't get into the horrific experiences these girls suffered but I will say that I cannot believe the strength of the girls spirits and their will to survive. The story is written very well and I found myself reading it in one setting. I usually have to put these types of books down but not this one. This is one of those books that I will not forget; not only because of the subject matter but also because of the sheer courage of two little girls and their unconditional love for one another. I want to thank the publishers (via Netgalley) for allowing me to read this. I also want to thank Eva Mozes Kor for having the strength and determination to talk and write about something that must be so painful. Definitely a must read. I received a copy of this book from the publishers (via Netgalley) for free in exchange for my honest review.

Five out of Five Stars

Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page