top of page

The Sixth Victim

I love anything to do with Jack the Ripper and the late 1800's in the East End of London. "The Sixth Victim" by Tessa Harris does a absolutely fantastic job of bringing this time period to life in a very realistic and vivid way. A young flower girl named Constance Piper is trying to live her life as best she can in the East End while trying to come to terms with her apparent clairvoyant abilities and also the fear of walking the streets while Jack is on the loose. She is also searching for her missing teacher, Emily Tindall who taught her to read and speak correctly, and saw much promise in the very intelligent young girl. Then Constance is contacted by a high-born lady who worries that the latest victim attributed to Jack is her sister and wants Constance to use her clairvoyant powers to help her find out the truth. Jack the Ripper's East End is brought to life so very well. I know I said it before but I was very impressed by Tessa Harris's ability to bring a long forgotten time period to life. I felt as if I were walking along with Constance in the East End and the West End. The characters were so well developed and the story flowed so well that I was reluctant to put the book down. I can't wait for the next book in this series. I love historical mysteries and this seems like it will be among the best. I received a copy of this book from Kensington Books via Netgalley for free in exchange for my honest review.

Four out of Five Stars!

Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page