top of page

The Ship

I am a big fan of apocalyptic/end of the world as we know it kind of books so I was quick to request this book when I read the synopsis. Lalla has the misfortune to be a young person alive at a time when the world and civilization has basically collapsed. She lives a sheltered life for awhile until her father decides to take an escape route he has been planning for awhile: a ship that is limited to 500 people. The idea of the book is interesting and different from other novels I have read that deal with this kind of scenario. I have to admit that I did not like Lalla's character very much but I can understand and empathize with why she is the way she is. The writing is amazing and kept me up reading just a bit more but I found the overall tone very dark as it should be considering the subject matter. All in all, I enjoyed reading this book but felt a bit sad and let down at the end as there is no fairy tale ending. The Ship is a very realistic story on a difficult and uncomfortable subject.

Three out of Five Stars

Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page