top of page

The Sorrows

Every time I pick up a book by Jonathan Janz, I know I am in for a treat. One of the things I love about his books is that they do not follow any particular formula but are all original in their own right. One book might focus on a serial killer, another book may center on a murderous retreat for writers or mythological creatures during Armageddon. There always seems to be a romance but the stories vary so much. I am a sucker for gothic novels so "The Sorrows" was an especially enjoyable read. Janz really knows how to create the proper atmosphere for the story he is trying to tell. He also is able to weave the characters in so well in a way that does not distract from the story itself. You get a sense for what makes people tick. I liked the way he was able to fluidly move from the present day to the past. Sometimes, it can be jarring and distracting but he was able to pull it off. I had no idea that this was actually his first novel so I have to say I am impressed. Thank you to Jonathan Janz, Flame Tree Press, and Netgalley for the chance to read this book. I received this book from the publisher via Netgalley in exchange for an honest review.

4/5 Stars

Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page