top of page

In the Night Wood

I have always dreamed of living in an atmospheric cottage/manor in England, preferably the countryside with an ancient wood/forest around or beside it where I can imagine old mythological creatures abound like elves, satyrs, Gods, pixies, and who knows what else from the Celtic past. The book starts off easily enough with an American and his wife moving to the Yorkshire home she has inherited hoping to rekindle all they have lost of the future they expected to have together. They both see things that are impossible and are drawn to the primeval wood called The NIght Wood. I loved the writing. It is so lyrical, poetic and descriptive that I could imagine myself wandering the rooms of the house or the paths of the Night Wood itself. It really set the tone and atmosphere for me. I didn't find it spooky in the sense of a haunting or typical "scary" story but more a slow sense of dread of the unknown especially an ancient unknown. I really like novels where the horror isn't obvious and it is more the style of writing and the words chosen that develop the ambience of the story.

5/5 Stars

Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page