top of page

Ashes of the Sun (Burningblade & Silvereye, #1)

I have never read anything by this author before so I really didn't know what to expect. However, I did make the assumption that it would just be an "okay" fantasy novel because I tend to compare them to classic fantasy novels/series. It is definitely not fair but there you go. Needless to say, I was dead wrong. The story revolves around Maya and Gyre who are two siblings growing up on a farm. Life would be fine aside from the fact that Maya suffers from a recurring illness that no one seems to be able to cure. Her older brother, Gyre, is very caring and protective of her. One day, a Centarch of the Twilight Order (don't worry, there is a glossary to straighten things out) arrives offering to cure Maya but there is a catch. She must leave her family and go away with him. Gyre is understandably upset and unsuccessfully attempts to stop the Centarch from taking Maya but at the cost of losing an eye and gaining a scar across half of his face. Fast forward a few years later, Gyre has vowed revenge on the order and Maya is in training to become a Centarch herself. In the course of their separate lives, Maya and Gyre finally meet again and realize that they are now on opposite sides. This book literally blew me away. It is fantasy but it also has elements of science fiction as well with regards to the type of weapons, magic, and unbelievable creatures. I loved how the chapters alternated between Maya and Gyre and I have to admit that I absolutely loved Maya's character who is a member of the LGBTQ community. I am not a member myself but I do support the community and the way he developed her character with her crushes and feelings was so sweet and touching. The World he created is so very complex and developed which I love in a fantasy novel and the glossary helped me navigate through the book. The writing is fast paced and there is a bit of gore but not overly so. I really did enjoy reading this and am looking forward to the next book in the series.

4/5 Stars

Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page