top of page

In the Dark, Soft Earth

𝑺𝒆𝒅𝒖𝒄𝒕𝒊𝒗𝒆 𝒂𝒏𝒅 𝒆𝒏𝒕𝒉𝒓𝒂𝒍𝒍𝒊𝒏𝒈 𝒔𝒆𝒍𝒆𝒄𝒕𝒊𝒐𝒏𝒔 𝒐𝒇 𝒑𝒐𝒆𝒎𝒔 I have loved poetry since I was a young child. I think it was the realization that something written could sometimes resonate with me in a deep way. This collection of poems is exquisite and was a pleasure to read. As with any collection of poems, I liked some poems more than others. I found myself reading the ones I did like more than once and made notes to be able to go back and read them yet again. 𝐭𝐡𝐞 𝐄𝐚𝐫𝐭𝐡 𝐢𝐬 𝐚 𝐥𝐚𝐧𝐠𝐮𝐚𝐠𝐞 𝐬𝐩𝐨𝐤𝐞𝐧 𝐟𝐫𝐨𝐦 𝐚𝐧 𝐚𝐛𝐲𝐬𝐬 -Frank Watson There were poems inspired by love, nature, tarot, and jazz. There were a few that stood out for me such as "Bohemia" and I enjoyed the collection from the chapter titled, "Percussion Mind". 𝘀𝗼𝘂𝗻𝗱𝘀 𝗽𝗹𝗮𝘆 𝗹𝗼𝘂𝗱 𝘁𝗵𝗲 𝗹𝗶𝗴𝗵𝘁𝘀 𝗮𝗿𝗲 𝗯𝗹𝘂𝗿𝗿𝗲𝗱 𝗮 𝘄𝗮𝘆𝘄𝗮𝗿𝗱 𝗱𝗮𝗻𝗰𝗲 𝗮 𝘀𝗶𝗱𝗲𝘄𝗮𝘆𝘀 𝗴𝗹𝗮𝗻𝗰𝗲 𝘄𝗲 𝘀𝗽𝗲𝗮𝗸 𝗶𝗻 𝗰𝗼𝗹𝗼𝗿𝘀 𝘄𝗼𝗿𝗱𝘀 𝘂𝗻𝗵𝗲𝗮𝗿𝗱 -Frank Watson One of the things I liked best about this collection is how the author showed where some of his inspiration came from. Namely... art. There is art speckled throughout the book and I appreciated the background to the birth of some of the poems. All in all, a very delightful read.

5/5

Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page