top of page

The Red Door (The Eternal Artifacts #2)

I can't express how much I love this series. I grew up with Narnia and was fascinated with the idea of opening a door/closet/wardrobe and finding a brand new world. I have always loved fantasy fiction so moved on to LOTR, Belgariad, Shannara and more (I could go on and on) but was always nostalgic and wistful for a mysterious door I could open or at least a book I could read about one being opened. This wonderful series does have those magical doors and each one is so original and such a fun world to explore. I enjoyed the first book in the series (The Green Door (The Eternal Artifacts #1)) but I loved The Red Door even more. I don't want to give any spoilers away but I am thinking to purge all red clothing and items from my sight. I really like the continuing development of the main characters and the complicated relationships between them. Heather manages to show each character's personality but in such a way that does not detract from the telling of the story itself. I really like the idea of a strong, no nonsense female character who is smart enough to realize that sometimes it is okay to admit that you need help. I also really like the idea of relatively minor characters showing up from the first book to continue their story as well. One thing I noticed is that there is a theme of tough female characters but also the idea that anyone can be confident but also vulnerable whether they are male or female. Both are to be respected and equal. Heather also incorporates so much sarcasm and humor in her books which I love. There were a few times I laughed out loud or reread a paragraph because it was hilarious and I really appreciate when an author knows when to add humor without ruining the flow of the story. I am definitely addicted to this series and am so stoked by the fact that book 3 in the series will be released sometimes in 2020. I cannot wait to continue reading this series. I really want to know what Heather has planned behind the White Door.

4/5 Stars

Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page