top of page

Songs for the End of the World by Saleema Nawaz

I needed to take some time and reflect on this book because of the circumstances we are living in today with the COVID19 pandemic. I wanted to be as unbiased as much as possible.

First off, it is impressive and interesting that this book was basically written before Covid19. The book focuses on a worldwide pandemic caused by a coronavirus called ARAMIS. It is not an exciting action account of an emerging virus with the accompanying race to find a cure. It is more of an exploration of the effect of a deadly novel virus that has the potential to wipe out humanity on a select group of people who are loosely socially connected.

I found the book interesting at times but at other times, I found it a bit tedious. I stuck with the novel and am glad I did finish it. I was in tears at the end which surprised me a bit as I was not keen on most of the characters but then this was meant as an exploration of everyday people with all the imperfections they have. It may also be part of the emotional toll that Covid19 has taken on not only me but also all of us. The novel is well written and the characters are also well developed which is not always easy. If you are looking for an exciting book on the fight to beat a threatening virus then this is not the book for you. On the other hand, if you are interested in delving a bit deeper into the human psyche and the effect a pandemic might have on various people then this would be a good book that I would recommend.


3/5 Stars


Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page